Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

MMA : ICD-10 Conversion

ICD-10 Transition
Medicaid will begin accepting ICD-10 codes on October 1, 2015.
As ICD-10 codes encompass both diagnostic and procedural codes, changes to both the alpha-numeric composition of codes and procedural terminology associated with codes will occur with ICD-10 conversion.
Beginning October 1, Medicaid will deny claims containing diagnosis codes not coded to the highest level of specificity (also known as "header codes").
End-to-end testing with the Department
Provider end-to-end testing started on March 23, 2015 and is in progress. Providers interested in conducting end-to-end testing with the Department must email Providers should also consult the FAQs for end-to-end testing, posted below.
About ICD-10
ICD is the International Classification of Disease, providing code description for every possible diagnosis, symptom, or cause of death. Developed by the World Health Organization (WHO), these codes are monitored in the United States by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
ICD-9 codes were adopted by the US in 1979; as we continue to overhaul our healthcare system, the adoption of ICD-10 will allow for better support for analysis, reporting, risk, and severity assessment. After repeat delay, the Federal Government mandated ICD-10 compliance by October 1, 2015.
Resources and more information  
Please send any questions regarding the ICD-10 transition in Maryland to: